Visiting home with the help of Google Map

Spring is here. Excitement is growing. Time to be home again is not that far. Counting down gets resumed – actually, I’ve been counting down since three years ago. In a meanwhile, blog posts about Burmese foods, Facebook fan pages for Burmese foods, and some old/new pictures my friends uploaded on Facebook or through other blogging sites are the places I could visit and find a sense of home.

I could not imagine how difficult life being away from home would have been – if an access to internet were not widely available.

I am still shocked while thinking about  how young Burmese scholars, who won the state scholar to study in many different countries in the early 1960s, had to cope with homesickness.

In the early 21st century, not just a sense of home, by using the google map, I could easily find  my home in my village, as I know the landmarks of my village. It is really amazing I can even clearly see the roof of my house, trees in our yard, our farms, and even small lane to our farms. And the street to my old high school, large school buildings, and compound, and all. 🙂

Here, pls have a look – the view of a typical village of Burma (Myanmar).  Don’t forget to zoom all in to have a close-up look. Oh. Yeah. My village is relatively larger and more populated than Poultney. And roadside tea shops open until midnight. So, you do not need to go to bed with a starving stomach, even if you run out of foods in your room. That happens to me in Poultney all the time, where there is no living creatures outside after 8:00 pm.

my home in Monywe village, Burma Myanmar (at the point of the tap) through the google map (Pic: http://travelingluck.com)
About Wai Phyo Myint

Wai Phyo Myint is a senior at Green Mountain College, majoring in Political Journalism. She is now in Cambodia doing her senior studies and volunteering as an Communications/Advocacy strategy intern with International Labour Organiations in Phnom Penh.
This entry was posted in Blog posts, Burma/Myanmar and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

